← Transmissions
Publié28 Jan 2026
AuteurVolkier Bentinck
Lecture23 min

Shopify Training: The 2026 Comparison

Shopify training costs between 0 and 2,340 euros. The difference is not in the content taught, but in the certification and support provided. A comparison of 12 training courses, and the list of skills that none of them cover.

what free Shopify training courses are available?

Guide updated on August 20, 2026.

There is no single best Shopify training, there is one per profile: Shopify Academy to learn for free, a CPF-eligible certification program (CPF being France's personal training account) such as Axio Formation or Digi Atlas to fund a career change, and the shopify.dev documentation to develop. Shopify lists more than 80 courses in its partner program, and the two best-documented French certification programs cost between €1,649 and €2,340 incl. VAT. This comparison reviews 12 training options with their format, duration, price and funding. At Stellar Projects, we train our clients' teams before every launch, and that is what allows us to say what none of these trainings cover.

Which Shopify training to choose for your profile

To get started with no budget, Shopify Academy is enough: dozens of official courses, free, but only in English. For a certification funded by the CPF, Axio Formation (€1,649 incl. VAT, 3 days) and Digi Atlas (€2,340 incl. VAT, 40 hours) are the two best-documented programs. For development, everything happens on shopify.dev.

This table sums up the trade-off. Each row corresponds to a real situation, not a theoretical level. The last one is ours: since 2018 and more than 100 stores delivered, we have trained our clients' teams before every launch, splitting the sessions by role within the company. We have only one indicator to judge whether the training worked, and it is blunt: a well-trained client does not ask us for application maintenance after launch.

Your situation Recommended training Budget Time to plan for
I am starting from scratch, I have no budget Shopify Academy and the official documentation €0 10 to 15 hours
I want a recognized, funded certification Axio Formation (RS6475) or Digi Atlas (RS6685) €150 flat contribution with the CPF 3 days to 2 months
I am an employee changing careers CPF certification program, supplemented by Shopify Academy €150, excluding employer top-up 2 to 3 months
I develop themes or apps shopify.dev, Partner Academy and a Verified Skills badge $0, then $249 for the exam 3 to 6 months
I already run a store and I want it to perform An SEO and acquisition training, not a Shopify training €500 to €2,000 Ongoing
My team is taking over a store that was just delivered to me A session on your own store, split by role Included in any serious agency project 2 to 4 hours per role

If your situation is not in this table, the detailed comparison below covers the twelve options we selected, with their verified prices and funding conditions. And if you first want to move from theory to launch, our go-live guide takes you through the steps in order.

The 2026 comparison of Shopify trainings

Twelve trainings shape the French-language Shopify training market today, from the free official resource to the €2,340 incl. VAT certification program. Here they are lined up against the same criteria, with prices collected on August 20, 2026 from the providers' websites. None of the comparisons that dominate this search offer such a complete matrix.

Training Provider Format Duration Price CPF For whom
Shopify Academy Shopify On-demand online courses, in English From 20 minutes to several hours per course Free No All levels, provided you are comfortable in English
Verified Skills Shopify Proctored online exam, LinkedIn badge One exam, badge valid for 2 years $149 or $249 depending on the level No Freelancers and agencies that sell Shopify services
Partner Academy Shopify Courses, resources and live webinars More than 80 courses Free with a partner account No Agencies, freelancers, consultants
shopify.dev documentation Shopify Technical documentation and tutorials Open access Free No Developers and Liquid integrators
Axio Formation Axio, certified by Didactiz Live virtual classes or in person 3 days €1,649 incl. VAT in a group, €2,279 one-on-one Yes, certification RS6475 Career changers, employees, small business owners
Digi Atlas Digi Atlas 8 virtual classes and 3 hours of one-on-one mentoring 40 hours over 2 months €2,340 incl. VAT Yes, certification RS6685 Small business founders who want a paced framework
LiveMentor LiveMentor One-on-one mentoring and online courses 3, 6 or 12 months Not publicly disclosed, quote on request Yes Entrepreneurs looking for a mentor, not a course
Network of chambers of trades Regional CMA and CCI In person in the regions 3 to 6 days depending on the chamber, i.e. 21 to 42 hours Varies by chamber, often partially subsidized Depending on the session Craftspeople and retailers who prefer in-person training
Udemy Independent instructors On-demand video, lifetime access 4 to 25 hours depending on the course Free and paid catalogs, prices vary widely No Self-learners who want a common thread
LinkedIn Learning LinkedIn On-demand video, in French 1 to 3 hours per course Included in a LinkedIn Premium subscription No Employees already subscribed to LinkedIn Premium
YouTube and tutorials Independent creators Free video, in French Variable Free No Getting unstuck on a specific point, not in-depth training
Agency training Your Shopify provider Session on your actual store, by role 2 to 4 hours per role Included in the project No Teams taking over a delivered store

Three things stand out when you line up these twelve rows. First: the price gap runs from zero to €2,340, and it almost never comes down to the content taught. Shopify fundamentals are the same everywhere, because the interface is the same for everyone. What you are buying above zero euros is a certification, an imposed pace and a point of contact.

Second: the only official Shopify resources are free, but they are in English. This is the blind spot of the French-language market, and it is precisely what keeps the paid offering in French alive.

Third, and more uncomfortable: of the three most visible CPF providers, only one does not display its price. LiveMentor systematically directs you to a sales call, while Axio Formation and Digi Atlas publish theirs. This is worth pointing out, because pricing transparency is not the norm in this market. When a price is not public, it is never because it is low.

Free Shopify trainings worth a look

A free Shopify training and free Shopify do not mean the same thing, and the confusion is costly. The first is about learning: courses, tutorials, documentation that cost you nothing. The second is about the cost of the platform itself, meaning the monthly subscription and the fees. If it is the tool's budget you are interested in, go straight to what Shopify really costs. You can take every course below without ever paying a cent in subscription fees.

Shopify Academy: official, comprehensive and in English

Shopify Academy is the reference resource, and Shopify lists more than 80 courses in its partner program, organized by learning path: selling fundamentals, development, point of sale, B2B, headless commerce. Formats range from a 20-minute course to a path lasting several hours.

There is a catch, and it is a big one: the platform is available only in English, with just a few courses and certification exams also offered in Japanese. No French version. This is the constraint most French-language comparisons forget to mention, even though it effectively rules out part of their readers. If your technical English is decent, Shopify Academy is by far the best content-to-price ratio on the market, because the price is zero and the source is primary. Otherwise, you will need to go through an offering in French.

The official documentation and the Partner Academy

Two free resources are widely underused. The first is shopify.dev, the technical documentation, which covers Liquid, the GraphQL API, the CLI and theme architecture. The second is the Partner Academy, accessible with a partner account: it gives access to the same courses, to resources and to live webinars.

The Shopify Help Center, on the other hand, is translated into French. This is an important distinction: the user documentation is available in French, the structured learning documentation is not.

YouTube and Shopify tutorials: useful but poorly framed

A Shopify tutorial answers a closed question very well: how to set up a shipping method, how to remove the "Powered by Shopify" mention, how to connect a payment method. It is the fastest format for getting unstuck on a specific point.

Its limit is structural. Video teaches the click, not the judgment call. It shows you how to install an app, never whether you should. It shows you a procedure in an interface that will have changed six months from now. And it is overwhelmingly produced by affiliate creators, whose income depends on the tools they recommend. So watch them, but know that you are watching a demonstration, not a training.

Free e-commerce trainings that do not cover Shopify

A free e-commerce training that is not specific to Shopify is still useful, because a good share of the skills have nothing to do with the platform. SEO fundamentals, the logic of a purchase funnel, calculating a contribution margin, reading an ad account: all of this transfers entirely from one CMS to another. Google Ateliers Numériques, the introductory digital marketing courses on LinkedIn Learning or university MOOCs do the job very well on this foundation.

Free versus paid, here is the trade-off in three measurable criteria:

  • Cost: €0 versus €1,649 to €2,340 incl. VAT for a certification program, brought down to €150 out of pocket with the CPF.
  • Certification: none on the free side, unless you take a Verified Skills exam at $149 or $249. A certification registered with France Compétences on the paid side.
  • Support: zero on the free side, nobody will answer your specific question. From 3 hours of one-on-one mentoring to several months of follow-up on the paid side.

If the question behind your search is whether the platform itself is worth it, we have published what Shopify is really worth after more than 100 stores delivered, including what we hold against it.

Funding your Shopify training with the CPF

Yes, a Shopify training can be funded by the CPF, but never directly by Shopify. Shopify offers no CPF-eligible training: the vendor is not a French training organization. It is third-party Qualiopi-certified providers that build e-commerce programs including Shopify and register them with France Compétences.

In practice, you are not funding "a Shopify training" with your CPF credits. You are funding a certification in building an e-commerce site, with Shopify as the supporting tool. The distinction matters when you look for the training in the Mon Compte Formation catalog: you need to search for the name of the certification, not the name of the platform.

Provider Target certification Duration Listed price Out of pocket with the CPF Other funding
Axio Formation Create and develop a professional e-commerce store (RS6475, certified by Didactiz) 3 days €1,649 incl. VAT for a group session €150 OPCO, France Travail, own funds
Digi Atlas Create and manage your small business website with a CMS (RS6685) 40 hours over 2 months €2,340 incl. VAT €150 OPCO, France Travail, payment in 2, 3 or 4 installments
LiveMentor E-commerce certification, one-on-one mentoring 3, 6 or 12 months depending on the package Not publicly disclosed €150 OPCO, France Travail, FAF
CMA and CCI network Varies by chamber 3 to 6 days depending on the chamber Varies by chamber Depending on the session's eligibility OPCO, regional grants

Eligibility conditions and procedure on Mon Compte Formation

Three conditions must be met. The training must lead to a certification registered in the RNCP or the Répertoire spécifique (France's national certification registers), the provider must be Qualiopi-certified, and the session must be published in the Mon Compte Formation catalog. A Qualiopi-certified provider that holds no registered certification cannot be funded through the CPF, whatever its sales page says.

Since April 2, 2026, a flat contribution of €150 is payable by you on each CPF application, pursuant to decree No. 2026-234 of March 30, 2026. This amount replaces the €103.20 resulting from inflation indexing, which lasted only three months: so beware of comparisons that still cite the old figure. You are exempt in four cases: if you are a job seeker, if your employer tops up your account, if you use credits earned under the professional prevention account, or if you receive a top-up linked to a workplace accident or an occupational disease.

The procedure is clearly laid out: you look for the session in the catalog, you send your registration request, the provider has two business days to reply or the request is automatically canceled, then you have four business days to finalize your registration and pay the flat contribution. Between the request and the actual start of the training, allow at least two weeks.

Alternatives to the CPF when your credits are not enough

If your CPF balance does not cover the cost of the training, three alternatives exist. France Travail can provide individual training assistance as part of a career change project approved with your advisor. OPCOs fund employees and, for some of them, non-salaried business owners, through the training insurance funds for self-employed workers. Finally, your company's skills development plan remains the fastest route if you are an employee and the upskilling directly serves your job: it is an employer decision, not an administrative application.

In-person Shopify training in Paris and in the regions

Shopify training in Paris is actually found through three distinct channels, and only one of them is visible in online comparisons. First, the CPF providers: Axio Formation advertises in-person sessions throughout France in addition to its virtual classes, but get a Paris date confirmed before you register, as its open calendar is mostly remote. Next, the network of chambers: chambers of trades and chambers of commerce offer three- to six-day sessions in most regions, generally at lower rates than private providers because these sessions are partially subsidized. Finally, Shopify agencies, which train you on your own store rather than on a textbook case. The second route is the most underrated, especially for a craftsperson or a local retailer.

A warning to close this section, because it shapes everything else: a certification is not a skill. The badge certifies that you passed an exam at a given moment. It does not certify that you will be able to make the right calls on your own store, with your own constraints. We detail this gap in the section on blind spots.

Shopify training in PDF: what really exists

There is no official Shopify training in PDF format. Shopify does not publish any downloadable material: the vendor distributes exclusively online, through Shopify Academy, its Help Center and shopify.dev. What circulates under the name "Shopify training PDF" falls into three categories.

  • Training materials handed out by providers. Several certified providers give trainees their course material in PDF. This is the most reliable PDF, because it is dated, tied to a session and updated for each new cohort.
  • Agency and blog guides. Often honest, often in exchange for an email address. Their quality depends entirely on their author and their publication date.
  • Anonymous documents hosted on file-sharing platforms. With no identifiable author or date, they are usually old, recycled dropshipping training materials. Avoid them.

The problem with PDFs is not their quality, it is their expiration date. Shopify publishes an Edition every six months, with dozens of new product features each time. A static document written before the latest Edition describes an interface that no longer exists, and will have you looking for a setting in a place that has moved. On technical topics, the gap becomes a real handicap: Shopify permanently stopped running Shopify Scripts on June 30, 2026, in favor of Shopify Functions. No earlier written material can anticipate this kind of switchover.

Our recommendation: use a PDF as a reminder of vocabulary and general logic, never as a step-by-step procedure. For hands-on tasks, the Shopify Help Center, which is in French and continuously updated, will always be more accurate.

Learning Shopify SEO and marketing

SEO is the most poorly covered skill in the Shopify training market. Almost all general programs cover it in a one- to two-hour module, focused on three basic settings: the title tag, the meta description and image alt text. That is an introduction, not a training. As a result, the stores we take over almost always arrive with an improvised collection architecture, product URLs duplicated across collections and no internal linking at all.

This is not a matter of comfort. It is a matter of dependence. A brand that does not work on its organic acquisition is captive to its paid media, and its business model depends on an acquisition cost it does not control. At Cabania, our own brand of cabin beds for children, we are aiming for 25 percent of traffic from SEO and GEO within 24 months. It is the order of magnitude we also set for the stores we support: not a goal of total independence, a goal of breathing room.

What a real Shopify SEO training should cover

Four pillars, put back in the order a training should teach them. Collection architecture first, because it determines the URL structure and how internal link equity is distributed, and because it is very expensive to fix once the store is live. URL management next, with the Shopify-specific question of /collections/ and /products/ paths and redirects. Content third, with product pages, collection pages and the blog. Internal linking fourth. Core Web Vitals last, because technical performance matters, but after structure.

If you want the details of these pillars, our Shopify SEO guide covers them one by one, with the corresponding steps in the admin.

Email and retention: the most profitable skill

Email is the only channel you truly own: no algorithm, no bidding, no intermediary platform. It is also the most poorly taught, because it requires understanding a logic of flows and segmentation rather than an interface.

The numbers are unambiguous. At Cabania, email accounts for between 28 and 35 percent of revenue depending on the month. At Superbon, it reached 32 percent of monthly revenue. These are two of our own brands, not market averages. An e-commerce training that devotes two hours to SEO and zero to retention misses a third of the store's potential revenue. The details of the flows that produce these results are in our Klaviyo guide for Shopify.

On the tools side, the question is largely settled by choosing the right apps: we have listed the apps that really drive sales, tested on stores in production.

Learning Shopify development and Liquid

For development, there is no better resource than the official documentation. shopify.dev covers Liquid, the GraphQL Admin API, the Storefront API, the CLI and Online Store 2.0 theme architecture. It is constantly up to date, it is written by the teams building the platform, and it is free. No paid training can keep up with this pace of updates.

The classic progression comes in three stages. You start with Liquid, the templating language: the syntax takes a few days to learn, the logic of Shopify objects takes longer. You then move on to theme architecture, sections, blocks and customization settings, which is the real core of the job. You finish with app development, with authentication, webhooks and extensions.

Before you even write a line of Liquid, a word of advice on method: know how to choose the right theme before coding. A good share of the custom development we see in audits makes up for a poor initial theme choice.

Official Shopify certifications and what they are worth

Shopify has replaced its old certification system with Verified Skills: badges earned after a proctored exam, which can be displayed on LinkedIn. The learning path that prepares for the exam is free, only the exam is paid.

  • Foundational-level exams (sales, solution planning, marketing): $149.
  • Advanced-level exams (app development, Liquid storefronts): $249.
  • Validity: 2 years from passing the exam. After that, the badge expires and the exam must be retaken for it to remain displayable.

Our position, as an agency that hires and works with freelancers: these badges have real commercial value and little technical value. They reassure a prospect, they add credibility to a LinkedIn profile, they say almost nothing about the ability to deliver a project. We have never hired or turned down a profile on this criterion alone. If you sell Shopify services, get them. If you want to progress technically, the same budget spent building a theme from A to Z will teach you more. It is a line of reasoning we develop in our guide to choosing a Shopify expert.

Shopify dropshipping training: the trap to avoid

A good share of the trainings sold under the "Shopify training" label are dropshipping trainings in disguise. Spotting them is simple: if the program talks about winning products, ad scaling and passive income before talking about margin, logistics or customer service, you are not buying a Shopify training. You are buying a product arbitrage method, and Shopify is just the tool it runs in.

The problem is not moral, it is arithmetic. We ran Superbon, our solid cosmetics brand, from its launch until its sale in 2022, right in the middle of the iOS 14 shock. Customer acquisition cost rose from €6 to €15, and ROAS dropped from 5 to 2 or less. On an average order of €30, our contribution margin fell from €11.25 to €2.25: divided by five, on a model whose promise rests entirely on paid advertising. Since then, the trend has not reversed: today we see acquisition costs of €20 to €40 in the fashion, beauty and food verticals.

A second shock followed, and no training published before the summer takes it into account: since July 1, 2026, the European Union has applied a flat customs duty of €3 per item category on parcels under €150 coming from non-EU countries. On a product sourced at €4, that represents 75 percent in additional cost before a single euro is even spent on ads. These figures are detailed in our numbers-based review of dropshipping, with the full calculation of the viability threshold. They explain why a training that teaches you to find a product and push it with ads is preparing you for a model that no longer holds up.

Our recommendation is the opposite: learn to build a brand, not to arbitrage products. A brand builds an asset that gains value, while an arbitrage offer replays the same game every month with rising costs. This is exactly what we formalized by building a brand rather than a catalog.

What no Shopify training teaches

At Stellar Projects, we systematically train our clients' teams before every launch. It is not a commercial add-on, it is a step in the project. The goal is explicit: the client must be fully autonomous from launch day. And we have a simple indicator to know whether we did our job well: when the training is successful, the client does not ask us for application maintenance after launch. They manage on their own.

We always adapt the content to the client's internal organization rather than to a standard program. If the team has a person dedicated to returns and after-sales service, we single out that topic and run a focused session for them. The same goes for order management, the catalog, content. This is where the market's first blind spot lies: no online training can do this, because it knows neither your org chart, nor your processes, nor your store. It teaches Shopify. It does not teach your Shopify.

Here are the four skills we most often see missing in a client who arrives already trained.

Choosing between an app and custom development

Trainings teach you how to install apps. None teaches you how to decide whether to install one. Yet this is the most structural trade-off in a Shopify project: an app costs a monthly subscription for life, adds script to the page and creates a dependency on a third-party vendor. Custom development costs a lot once and belongs to you. The right reflex is to reason over three years, not over the first month, and to count the number of apps that touch the buying journey rather than their price.

Deciding what not to do at launch

The reflex of a trained beginner is to switch on everything they learned to switch on. Loyalty program, recommendation quiz, live chat, verified reviews, cart upsell, all at once, on a store that has not yet made its first sale. A training teaches you to do, it never teaches you to give things up. The rare skill is launching with the bare minimum and only adding what a number justifies. Our 25 conversion levers are ranked in this spirit: by impact, not for the sake of completeness.

Reading your own data rather than benchmarks

Trainings hand out market benchmarks: an average conversion rate, an average order value, a target open rate. These benchmarks are useful in the first week and misleading afterwards. A conversion rate of 1.3 percent can be excellent on an €800 product and disastrous on a €25 product. Knowing how to read your own analytics, segment by traffic source and by device, isolate a seasonal effect: this is a hands-on skill that you only acquire with your own data in front of you.

Knowing when training is no longer enough

There comes a point where the blocker is no longer a lack of knowledge but a lack of time or technical skill. Spotting it early saves months. The most reliable signal: when you spend more time looking up how to do something than doing it, or when the same question comes up three times without being settled. At that stage, another training unblocks nothing, it just postpones the decision.

How to actually learn, in order

In our experience, a successful onboarding combines four things, and at least one of them is almost always missing.

  1. One or more dedicated sessions with your provider, on your actual store, split by role within the team.
  2. Keeping up with Shopify product news, through the Editions published every six months. It is the only way not to work a year behind the platform.
  3. Shopify Academy sessions, to fill knowledge gaps in a structured way.
  4. Lots of tests run by yourself: installing an app to see what it does, creating a development store from a partner account to break things without risk, repeating a procedure twice to remember it.

It is this fourth point that makes the difference, and it is the one trainings cannot do for you. Building your skills on Shopify happens at the pace of your motivation and curiosity. The platform really is easy to get to grips with: all it takes is practice to learn and improve. The people who progress fastest are not those who have taken the most courses, they are those who dare to experiment.

One client put it better than we could.

Auteuil knows how to make products and tell its story, but needed quite a lot of help with digital. Stellar supported us step by step so that we could find the right scale, the right Shopify apps and partners. They showed patience and kindness in helping us create content and fix our beginner mistakes. Today we have launched and we are confident.

Jean Leclercq, co-founder of Auteuil Tennis

Fixing beginner mistakes is exactly what a training does not do: it teaches you beforehand, it is not there during. Learning continues throughout a project, not in a three-day session upfront.

Two complements are worth exploring once you have the basics, because they change your day-to-day execution speed: Shopify's native AI tools, which are included in your subscription and widely underused, and 30 ready-to-use AI prompts for recurring product page, SEO and email tasks.

If you would rather get an overview before choosing your path, our ultimate Shopify guide brings together all our resources by topic. And if the real subject behind your search is a store build or redesign project, know that training your teams is part of it with us: let's talk about your project, and we will tell you frankly whether a training is enough.

Questions fréquentes

F·01

What is the best Shopify training course?

There is not just one, there is one per profile. Shopify Academy to learn for free, Axio Formation or Digi Atlas for a CPF-funded certification, shopify.dev for development. The decisive criterion is not the content taught, which is roughly the same everywhere, but the format: full self-study, a set pace or one-to-one support.
F·02

Can you learn Shopify for free?

Yes, and up to a fully operational level. Shopify Academy, the Help Center and the shopify.dev documentation cover getting started from end to end, with no subscription. The limit lies elsewhere: free resources provide no recognized certification, no personalized support and no acquisition strategy. And Shopify Academy is only available in English.
F·03

Can a Shopify training course be funded through the CPF (France's personal training account)?

Yes, but never directly through Shopify. The vendor is not a French training organization: it is third-party Qualiopi-certified organizations that register e-commerce certifications with France Compétences, such as Axio Formation (RS6475) or Digi Atlas (RS6685). Since April 2, 2026, a flat contribution of 150 euros remains payable by you, unless you are exempt.
F·04

Do you have to pay for Shopify to take a training course?

No. Shopify Academy courses are accessible without a platform subscription, and the official documentation is freely available. Do not confuse free Shopify training with free Shopify: the latter refers to the cost of the tool, not the cost of learning. To practice without paying, a development store is enough.
F·05

How long does it take to learn Shopify?

Allow ten to fifteen hours to put a first store online, then several months to make it truly sell. On our projects, a session of two to four hours per role is enough to make a team autonomous on launch day. Skill-building, for its part, happens at the pace of curiosity: practice is what drives progress, not the number of courses taken.
F·06

Is there a Shopify training course in PDF format?

No official Shopify training course exists in PDF format. Shopify does not publish downloadable materials and distributes exclusively online. What circulates under that name comes from training organizations, which give their materials to their trainees, or from agency guides. The risk is always the same: a PDF does not keep up with Shopify Editions, published every six months.

Consultation offerte

Vous avez un projet e-commerce
à nous confier ?

Réservez un call gratuit de 30min avec un expert Shopify

  • Diagnostic express
  • Pistes concrètes
  • Devis sous 48 h
Réserver 30 min